A Quick Update

Hey guys – long time no see! I just wanted to give a quick update as to what I’ve been up to since I’ve been MIA from my blog for the past few weeks!  I have been enjoying the summer, spending lots of time with friends and family, and have been very busy at work.  I’ve been using whatever free time I get to take it easy and get some much-needed R&R, so I haven’t had much time to write.  One of my closest friends, Shanta, came to visit from Calgary for a couple of weeks and stayed with us.  Because of that, we took a short break from our Chef’s Plate meals (one feature I love about the program – you can stop and start up any time you want!).

We took the chance to cook some of our own food and experiment a bit.  Some of my favourite meals that we had during those couple of weeks were a a great Cauliflower Mac & Cheese dish, ground turkey soft-shell tacos (much leaner than using ground beef), and a meal that my Shanta made that included garlic-roasted asparagus and delicious calypso rice.  You can check out the pictures of those meals below, and make sure you follow me on Instagram and Twitter to see what I get up to between my blog posts!

Follow me on Instagram: https://instagram.com/jessemc_13
Follow me on Instagram: https://instagram.com/jessemc_13

In June, we had company over most weekends – almost every friend I have is a Gemini, so June is a very busy time of month for birthdays!  I also went to see Bette Midler in concert.  She was divine as was expected and you can catch a glimpse of her performance of “I Put a Spell on You” here!  Good friends of ours also had their Jack & Jill – a pre-wedding celebration that is fairly common in Ontario, for those of you who aren’t from around here or familiar with the term.  Cody also managed to sprain his foot really bad and had to stay off of it for almost a week.  Other notable events: father’s day, seeing Jurassic World in theatres, and the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision to allow gay marriage (which was a very popular topic that dominated all of my social media accounts while people celebrated this historic decision).

In July, Shanta and I went to see fireworks at the lake to celebrate Canada Day and met up with our friend VIkki. I was off on vacation for the very beginning of July, so most of my free time was spent with Shanta, drinking sangria (check out this recipe that I used and loved!), and working on an exciting project that Shanta, Cody and I plan to launch sometime in August or September. Our air conditioning unit, our washing machine, and our shower head all managed to break down in close succession to each other which was a pain to coordinate getting fixed.  July is also one of the busiest times of year for work, so I was quite busy during my 9-5.  My parent’s celebrated their 28th wedding anniversary and I also went to my friend Candice’s baby shower for her second child, a baby boy due sometime in early September.

August promises to be an equally busy month with lots of events planned.  Over the next few weeks, I am going to be adding two new priorities on my journey to a healthier me.  The first is going to be getting into a predictable sleep schedule that allows me to get at least 7-8 hours of sleep a night.  I plan to write a blog post in the near future on the importance of sleep and health, so watch out for that!  I also will be focusing on my mental health by getting back into meditation and looking into yoga.  I have wanted to start doing yoga for some time now, and I would like to start incorporating healthy and enjoyable physical activities to my schedule over the next few months.  If anyone has any good resources to share on yoga (i.e. videos), please let me know and I will definitely check them out as I will be a total newbie!

Thanks for reading and I will see you all next time.  Cheers!

One thought on “A Quick Update

Leave a Reply

